Saturday, 24 February 2018

Jahangir Silver One Rupee Coin of Agra Mint of Farwardin Month.

Mirza Nur-ud-din Beig Mohammad Khan Salim, known by his imperial name Jahangir (31 August 1569 – 28 October 1627), was the fourth Mughal Emperor who ruled from 1605 until his death in 1627. Much romance has gathered around his name (in Persian, Jahangir means 'conqueror of the world', 'world-conqueror' or 'world-seizer'; Jahan = world, gir the root of the Persian verb gereftan, gireftan = to seize, to grab), and the tale of his relationship with the Mughal courtesan, Anarkali, has been widely adapted into the literatureart and cinema of India.

Jahangir, Agra Mint, Silver Rupee, AH 1023/9 RY, Month Farwardin, Obv: noor ud din jahangir shah akbar shah, Rev: zarb agra on top, elahi month farwardin and hijri 1023 with regnal year 9 at bottom, 11.28g, 23.21mm, (Unlisted in KM, Liddle # S-45), choice very fine, with floral & beaded border designs on bothsides, Very Rare.

Friday, 23 February 2018

Farrukhsiyar Gold Mohur Coin of Kankurti Mint

Abu'l Muzaffar Muin ud-din Muhammad Shah Farrukh-siyar Alim Akbar Sani Wala Shan Padshah-i-bahr-u-bar (Shahid-i-Mazlum), or Farrukhsiyar (20 August 1685 – 19 April 1719), was the Mughal emperor from 1713 to 1719 after he murdered Jahandar Shah. Reportedly a handsome man who was easily swayed by his advisers, he lacked the ability, knowledge and character to rule independently. Farrukhsiyar was the son of Azim-ush-Shan (the second son of emperor Bahadur Shah I) and Sahiba Nizwan.
His reign saw the primacy of the Sayyid brothers, who became the effective power behind the facade of Mughal rule. Farrukhsiyar's frequent plotting led the brothers to depose him.

Muhammad Farrukhsiyar was born on 11 September 1683 (9th Ramzan 1094 AH) in the city of Aurangabad on the Deccan plateau. He was the second son of Azim-ush-Shan. In 1696, Farrukhsiyar accompanied his father on his campaign to Bengal. Mughal emperorAurangzeb recalled his grandson, Azim-ush-Shan, from Bengal in 1707 and instructed Farrukhsiyar to take charge of the province. Farrukhsiyar spent his early years in the capital city of Dhaka (in present-day Bangladesh); during the reign of Bahadur Shah I, he moved to Murshidabad (present-day West Bengal, India).

Farrukhsiyar, Kankurti Mint, Gold Mohur, Obv: sikka zad az fazl-e-haq bar sim-o-zar, badshah-e-bahr-o-barr farrukh siyar, Rev: sana julus, zarb kankurti at bottom and al manus, 11.6g, 20.57mm, Unlisted and unpublished, about very fine with some file and finishing marks at persian ‘seen’ of julus, nevertheless Exceedingly Rare.

Thursday, 22 February 2018

Coins of Madras Presidency

The Madras Presidency, or the Presidency of Fort St. George and also known as Madras Province, was an administrative subdivision (presidency) of British India. At its greatest extent, the presidency included most of southern India, including the whole of the Indian states of Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh and parts of OdishaKeralaKarnataka and the union territory of Lakshadweep. The city of Madras was the winter capital of the Presidency and Ootacamund or Ooty, the summer capital. The island of Ceylon was a part of Madras Presidency from 1793 to 1798 when it was created a Crown colony.

                   Arkot Mint Silver Two Rupee Coin

Arcot (Madras) Mint, Silver 2 Rupees, AH 1172/6 RY, Rosette type, Edge: Oblique milling, In the name of Alamgir II, Obv: sikka mubarak badshah ghazi aziz-ud-din muhammad alamgir, Rev: manus memanat sana julus zarb arcot,open lotus, 23.95g, 39.08mm, (KM # 404.2/Paul Stevens # 3.340/PR # 245), choice extremely fine with beautiful toothed border on both sides, Extremely Rare

                   Silver Five Fanams Coin

Silver 5 Fanams, Ist Issue, Edge: Oblique milling, Obv: value in english around value in persian, Rev: value in telugu and tamil, 4.65g, 17.14mm, (Paul Stevens # 3.61), choice very fine, Very Rare

                  Silver Half Pagoda coin

Silver 1/2 Pagoda, Ist Issue, Edge: Oblique Milling, Obv: gopuram of a temple with stars 16L/17R each sides, on a ribbon, the ends seperated by a star the value in english “(Half) Pagoda”, persian “nim hun pahuli”, Rev: the deity vishnu surrounded by dotted circles, the value around in tamil “ arai pu vara kun” & in telugu “ ara pu vara hun”, 21.13g, 26.04mm, (Unlisted in KM & PR/Paul Stevens # 3.41), about extremely fine, Extremely Rare.

                 Gold Mohur

Madras Mint, Gold Mohur (Ashrafi), Edge: Vertical Milling, Obv: E.I. Co, arms with supporters, Rev: angrez bahadur kampani in persian and value, 11.62g, 27.59mm, (KM # 421.2/Paul Stevens # 4.4), about very fine with small nick on the edge, Very Rare.